just the facts the executive branch of government

Just the Facts: The Executive Branch of Government

    Delivery time:5-7 Days
  • Description

Just the Facts: Understanding Government: The Executive Branch

The Constitution of the United States established three distinct branches of Government - the Executive, the Legislative and the Judicial. Our founding fathers, in their wisdom, formed this division of government to establish the principle of separation of powers. This creates an internal system of checks and balances designed to protect citizens from capricious or tyrannical actions of government.

The Executive is a very powerful branch of the government, considering the President’s mandate to dictate foreign policy and direct the armed forces as Commander in Chief. His cabinet, the Vice President, and various law enforcement agencies including the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), the Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA), and Department of Treasury, are all an integral part of the Executive Branch.

Understanding Government: The Executive Branch is a fascinating program that analyzes the powers of the President from a legal and historical point of view. Past presidents had differing opinions on executive power; some held very conservative views on its scope of authority, while others held a more liberal stance on the powers granted the president and a few overstepped its bounds. This includes not only Richard Nixon, but also Franklin D. Roosevelt and even Abraham Lincoln. Noted educators and elected officials offer insight on this important facet of American political science. 

The Just The Facts™ Learning Series explores United States history in a fast-paced style that makes learning fun!

Special Features:

  • Interactive full motion Menus
  • Scene Index
  • A Teacher’s User guide
  • The Presidents of the United States
  • Multiple- Choice Quiz
  • Printable Documents
  • Trailers